



# **NOTIFICATION TO THE PARTIES**

No. 2025/085 Geneva. 27 June 2025

CONCERNING:

#### **REMINDER OF 27 JULY DEADLINE**

<u>Election of regional Members of the Standing Committee and</u> of Members of the Animals and Plants Committees

- 1. The Secretariat issued Notification to the Parties No.2025/014 on 18 February 2025 to invite Parties to submit candidatures for the regional Members and alternate regional Members of the Standing Committee and of the Animals and Plants Committees. The process for seeking candidates applies to the positions of the nomenclature specialists applies as well.
- 2. The purpose of the present Notification is to remind that the deadline for Parties to submit the candidatures is **27 July 2025**.
- 3. The Secretariat particularly encourages Parties to propose candidates as alternate specialists on zoological nomenclature (Animals Committee) an on botanical nomenclature (Plants Committee) due to the high volume of nomenclature work of the Animals and Plants Committees.
- 4. Additionally, the Secretariat received communication that the representative of the Oceania region on the Animals Committee, Mr. Hugh Robertson (New Zealand), will be stepping down as representative at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of Parties (CoP20; Samarkand; 24 November 5 December 2025).
- 5. The revised list of the current regional Members of the Standing Committee and of the Members of the Animals and Plants Committees, with the names of the Members whose term of office ends at the close of CoP20 appearing in italics with an asterisk (\*), is presented in the Annex to this Notification.
- 6. The Secretariat encourages Parties to review the details contained in the Notification No. 2025/014 and submit the candidatures, along with any applicable supporting documents, at their earliest convenience, but no later than 27 July 2025 to <a href="info@cites.org">info@cites.org</a>. If you have any questions, please contact by email as well.

Secretariat of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)

## Committee Members and alternate Members for election/re-election – REVISED

### **STANDING COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics with an asterisk* (\*).

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
<ul><li>Chad</li><li>Kenya</li><li>Madagascar</li><li>Morocco*</li></ul>	<ul> <li>Democratic Republic of the Congo</li> <li>Tanzania</li> <li>Zambia</li> <li>Senegal*</li> </ul>	
<b>Asia</b>		
– <i>Indonesiα*</i> – Japan – Kuwait	<ul><li>India</li><li>China</li><li>Singapore</li></ul>	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
<ul><li>Brazil</li><li>Dominican Republic</li><li>Honduras*</li></ul>	<ul><li>Ecuador</li><li>Cuba</li><li>Nicaragua*</li></ul>	
Europe		
<ul> <li>Belgium*</li> <li>Georgia</li> <li>Poland*</li> <li>United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Spain*</li> <li>Israel</li> <li>Ireland*</li> <li>Belarus*</li> </ul>	
North America		
<ul> <li>United States of America</li> </ul>	– Canada	
Oceania Oceania		
<ul> <li>New Zealand</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Australia</li></ul>	

### **ANIMALS COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics with an asterisk* (\*), while the interim Members and alternate Members who were appointed during the intersessional period and thus need to be confirmed at CoP20 (Res. Conf. 18.2, Annex 2, paragraph 12) are indicated in *italics and underlined*.

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
<ul> <li>Ms. Ngalié Maha (Cameroon)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. James Vedastor Wakibara (United Republic of Tanzania)</li> </ul>	
<ul><li>Mr. Pantaleon M. B. Kasoma (Uganda)*</li></ul>	<ul><li>– Mr. Djibril Diouck (Senegal)</li></ul>	
Asia		
– Mr. Asghar Mobaraki (Iran)*	<ul><li>Mr. Arvin C. Diesmos (Philippines)*</li></ul>	
<ul><li>Mr. Amir Hamidy (Indonesia)</li></ul>	– Ms. Saeko Terada (Japan)*	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
– Mr. Mauro Gongora (Belize) *	– Ms. Gloria Patricia Sosa Díaz (Honduras)*	
<ul> <li>Mr. Edgardo Daniel Ramadori (Argentina)*</li> </ul>	<ul><li>– Ms. Shirley Ramírez (Costa Rica)*</li></ul>	
Europe		
<ul><li>Vacant</li></ul>	<ul> <li>Ms. Mona van Schingen-Khan (Germany)</li> </ul>	
<ul><li>Mr. Mathias Lörtscher (Switzerland)*</li></ul>	– Mr. Ruslan Novitsky (Belarus)*	
North America		
<ul> <li>Mr. Hesiquio Benitez Díaz (Mexico)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. Thomas Leuteritz (United States of America)</li> </ul>	
Oceania		
<ul><li>Mr. Hugh Robertson (New Zealand)*</li></ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. Andrew Murrell (Australia)</li> </ul>	
Specialist on zoological nomenclature		
<ul> <li>Mr. Peter Paul Van Dijk</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Vacant</li></ul>	

### **PLANTS COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics* with an asterisk (\*), while the interim Members and alternate Members who were appointed during the intersessional period and thus need to be confirmed at CoP20 (Res. Conf. 18.2, Annex 2, paragraph 12) are indicated in *italics and underlined*.

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
<ul> <li>Mr. Chelestino Peter Balama (United Republic of Tanzania)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. Ouahid Zanndouche (Algeria)</li> </ul>	
<ul> <li>Ms. Aurélie Flore Koumba Pambo (Gabon)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. Betti Jean Lagarde (Cameroon)</li> </ul>	
Asia		
<ul><li>– Ms. Yan Zeng (China)</li></ul>	<ul> <li>Ms. Sumalee Tongdonae (Thailand)</li> </ul>	
<ul><li>– Ms. Tika Dewi Atikah (Indonesia)*</li></ul>	<ul> <li>Mr. Chong Kwek Yan (Singapore)</li> </ul>	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
<ul> <li>Mr. César Augusto Beltetón Chacón (Guatemala)</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Ms. Jacqueline de los Angeles Perez Camacho (Cuba)</li> </ul>	
<ul> <li>– Ms Fabiola Roció Núñez Neyra (Peru)*</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Mr. Fernando Olave (Chile)*</li></ul>	
Europe		
<ul><li>– Ms. Noeleen Smyth (Ireland)</li></ul>	<ul><li>– Mr. Hugo de Boer (Norway)</li></ul>	
<ul><li>– Ms. Ursula Moser (Switzerland)*</li></ul>	<ul><li>Mr. Daniel Wolf (Germany)*</li></ul>	
North America		
<ul><li>Ruben Boles (Canada)</li></ul>	<ul><li>– Mr. Hesiquio Benítez Díαz (Mexico)*</li></ul>	
Oceania		
– Mr. Damien Wrigley (Australia)*	– Mr. Heimuli Likiafu (Tonga)	
Specialist on botanical nomenclature		
<ul> <li>Ms. Ronell Renett Klopper (South Africa)*</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Vacant</li></ul>	