



NOTIFICATION TO THE PARTIES

No. 2025/014 Geneva, 18 February 2025

CONCERNING:

<u>Election of regional Members of the Standing Committee and</u> of Members of the Animals and Plants Committees

- The selection of regional Members and alternate regional Members of the Standing Committee and of the Animals and Plants Committees takes place at regional meetings held during the regular meetings of the Conference of Parties. The selected Members and alternates Members are formally selected by the Conference of the Parties, which also appoints the nomenclature specialists of the Animals and Plants Committees.
- 2. A list of the current regional Members of the Standing Committee and of the Members of the Animals and Plants Committees is presented in the Annex to this Notification. The names of the Members whose term of office ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of Parties (CoP20; Samarkand; 24 November 5 December 2025) appear in italics with an asterisk (*).
- 3. It should be noted that, although the nomenclature specialists are not selected by the regions, they have been included in the table in the Annex, as where a vacancy exists, the process for seeking candidates applies to their positions as well.
- 4. The Conference of the Parties adopted guidelines regarding the membership of these committees and the process to be followed for the selection of the above-mentioned Members and alternate Members. These are contained in Resolution Conf. 18.2 on Establishment of committees. Annex 1 to the Resolution contains the Terms of Reference of the Standing Committee and paragraphs 3 to 8 in Annex 1 address membership of the Standing Committee. Annex 2 to the Resolution contains the Terms of Reference of the Animals and Plants Committees and paragraphs 5 to 12 address the membership of the Committees.
- 5. Where vacancies exist, the candidatures for membership of these Committees should be submitted to the Secretariat by the Management Authority of the interested Parties at least 120 days before the meeting at which the elections are to take place, i.e., by 27 July 2025 for elections to take place during CoP20.
- 6. With regards to the candidatures for membership of the Animals and Plants Committees, as specified in Resolution Conf. 18.2, the proposing Party should confirm, at the time of nomination, that the candidate will be supported and that they will obtain the necessary means to undertake their activities.

Secretariat of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)

7. In terms of paragraph 8 of the Resolution, Parties proposing candidates as Members or alternate Members of the Animals and Plants Committee are requested to, together with the names and *curricula vitae*, provide a <u>declaration of interest</u> by the candidate which will be circulated to the Parties of the region concerned before the meeting of the Conference of the Parties at which the Members will be elected. The declaration of interest discloses any current financial interest that might call into question the proposed candidates' impartiality, objectivity or independence in carrying out his or her duties as a Member or alternate Member of the Committee.

Committee Members and alternate Members for election/re-election

STANDING COMMITTEE

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics with an asterisk* (*).

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
ChadKenyaMadagascar<i>Morocco*</i>	 Democratic Republic of the Congo Tanzania Zambia Senegal* 	
Asia		
Indonesia*JapanKuwait	IndiaChinaSingapore	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
BrazilDominican RepublicHonduras*	EcuadorCubaNicaragua*	
Europe		
 Belgium* Georgia Poland* United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 	Spain*IsraelIreland*Belarus*	
North America		
 United States of America Oce 	– Canada ania	
New Zealand	– Australia	

ANIMALS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics with an asterisk (*)*, while the interim Members and alternate Members who were appointed during the intersessional period and thus need to be confirmed at CoP20 (Res. Conf. 18.2, Annex 2, paragraph 12) are indicated in *italics and underlined*.

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
 Ms. Ngalié Maha (Cameroon) 	 Mr. James Vedastor Wakibara (United Republic of Tanzania) 	
Mr. Pantaleon M. B. Kasoma (Uganda)*	Mr. Djibril Diouck (Senegal)	
Asia		
– Mr. Asghar Mobaraki (Iran)*	– Mr. Arvin C. Diesmos (Philippines)*	
 Mr. Amir Hamidy (Indonesia) 	– Ms. Saeko Terada (Japan)*	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
– Mr. Mauro Gongora (Belize) *	– Ms. Gloria Patricia Sosa Díaz (Honduras)*	
 Mr. Edgardo Daniel Ramadori (Argentina)* 	– Ms. Shirley Ramírez (Costa Rica)*	
Europe		
– Vacant	– Ms. Mona van Schingen-Khan (Germany)	
Mr. Mathias Lörtscher (Switzerland)*	– Mr. Ruslan Novitsky (Belarus)*	
North America		
 Mr. Hesiquio Benitez Díaz (Mexico) 	 Mr. Thomas Leuteritz (United States of America) 	
Oceania		
 Mr. Hugh Robertson (New Zealand) 	– <u>Mr. Andrew Murrell (Australia)</u>	
Specialist on zoological nomenclature		
 Mr. Peter Paul Van Dijk 		

PLANTS COMMITTEE

Members and alternate Members whose term ends at the close of the 20th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics* with an asterisk (*), while the interim Members and alternate Members who were appointed during the intersessional period and thus need to be confirmed at CoP20 (Res. Conf. 18.2, Annex 2, paragraph 12) are indicated in *italics and underlined*.

Member	Alternate	
Africa		
 Mr. Chelestino Peter Balama (United Republic of Tanzania) 	 Mr. Ouahid Zanndouche (Algeria) 	
 Ms. Aurélie Flore Koumba Pambo (Gabon) 	 Mr. Betti Jean Lagarde (Cameroon) 	
Asia		
Ms. Yan Zeng (China)	 Ms. Sumalee Tongdonae (Thailand) 	
Ms. Tika Dewi Atikah (Indonesia)*	 Mr. Chong Kwek Yan (Singapore) 	
Central and South America and the Caribbean		
 Mr. César Augusto Beltetón Chacón (Guatemala) 	 Ms. Jacqueline de los Angeles Perez Camacho (Cuba) 	
 Ms Fabiola Roció Núñez Neyra (Peru)* 	– Mr. Fernando Olave (Chile)*	
Europe		
Ms. Noeleen Smyth (Ireland)	 Mr. Hugo de Boer (Norway) 	
Ms. Ursula Moser (Switzerland)*	Mr. Daniel Wolf (Germany)*	
North America		
 Ruben Boles (Canada) 	Mr. Hesiquio Benítez Díaz (Mexico)*	
Oceania		
Mr. Damien Wrigley (Australia)*	– Mr. Heimuli Likiafu (Tonga)	
Specialist on botanical nomenclature		
 Ms. Ronell Renett Klopper (South Africa)* 		