

## NOTIFICATION TO THE PARTIES

No. 2022/025 Geneva, 14 April 2022

CONCERNING:

## MIKE and ETIS Technical Advisory Group (TAG)

- 1. In Resolution Conf. 10.10 (Rev. CoP18) on *Trade in elephant specimens* Parties agreed that technical oversight should be provided to the Monitoring the Illegal Killing of Elephants (MIKE) programme and the Elephant Trade Information System (ETIS) through an independent Technical Advisory Group established by the Standing Committee.
- 2. In accordance with the <u>Terms of Reference for the TAG</u>, adopted by the Standing Committee, the TAG will comprise a maximum of 12 members, six experts from relevant subregions in Africa and Asia, and up to six global members. The Secretariat, in consultation with TRAFFIC, proposed to the MIKE-ETIS Subgroup of the Standing Committee two global members (illegal wildlife trade experts), considering that there is a need to strengthen the capacity of the TAG to advice on illegal trade matters in view of the ETIS review process. Two nominations were submitted to the MIKE-ETIS Subgroup (Ms Lucy Vigne and Mr Steven Broad). The proposed appointment of the two new members of the TAG was unanimously agreed to by the MIKE-ETIS Subgroup and approved by the Standing Committee [SC74 Sum. 13 (Rev. 1) (11/03/2022)].
- 3. The Standing Committee also noted that Dr Jennifer Mailley will be co-opted as an additional expert in illegal wildlife trade, crime investigation, quantitative analysis and policy. Dr Robert Slotow, co-chair of the IUCN African elephant Specialist Group, will also be co-opted to the TAG based on the provisions of the Terms of Reference that require that if a Specialist Group is jointly chaired by two or more individuals, the co-opted membership will rotate between co-chairs.
- 4. In addition to the global members, Asian elephant range States agreed through an e-mail procedure conducted in 2021 on new representatives for the sub-regions in Asia: Dr Sumith Pilapitiya (South Asia) and Mr Wei Ji (Southeast Asia).
- 5. The composition of the TAG, with the addition of two global members, the representatives for Asia and the co-opted members, is as follows:

Global experts:	Sub-regional experts:	Co-opted experts:
- Holly Dublin	- Leonard Mubalama (Central Africa)	- Robert Slotow (IUCN/SSC African
- Hugo Jachmann	- Chris Thouless (Eastern Africa)	elephant Specialist Group Chair)
- Andy Royle	- Russell Taylor (Southern Africa)	- Vivek Menon (IUCN/SSC Asian elephant Specialist Group Chair)
- Carl Schwarz	- Emmanuel Hema (West Africa)	- Jennifer Mailley (Expert: illegal
- Lucy Vigne	- Sumith Pilapitiya (South Asia)	wildlife trade, crime investigation, quantitative analysis, and policy)
- Steven Broad	- Wei Ji (Southeast Asia)	