CoP15 Doc. 7.3.2 (Rev. 1)

# CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA



Fifteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties Doha (Qatar), 13-25 March 2010

### Strategic matters

#### Committee reports and recommendations

#### Plants Committee

#### ELECTION OF NEW REGIONAL AND ALTERNATE REGIONAL MEMBERS

- 1. This document has been prepared by the Secretariat.
- 2. The Conference of the Parties has adopted guidelines regarding the procedure to be followed for the selection of regional members and alternate regional members of the Plants Committee. These are contained in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP14).
- 3. With Notification to the Parties No. 2009/039 of 24 August 2009, the Secretariat asked Parties to submit candidatures for election to membership of the permanent committees at least 120 days before the meeting, i.e. by 13 November 2009, in compliance with Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP14).
- 4. The Annex to this document shows the current members and alternate members of the Plants Committee, the outgoing incumbents and the candidatures that have been put forward by Parties for the elections during the present meeting.

## **PLANTS COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 15th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in *italics*.

The name of each person is followed by the name, in parentheses, of the country that nominated him or her or, for the nomenclature specialist, the country in which he is based.

Current members	Candidates	Current alternates	Candidates
Africa			
Mr David L.N. Hafashimana (Uganda)  Ms Beatrice Khayota	Ms Beatrice Khayota (Kenya)	Mr Koffi Akpagana (Togo) Mr Quentin Luke	
(Kenya)		(Kenya)	
Mr Tukirin Partomihardjo (Indonesia)	Ms Shereefa Al-Salem (Kuwait)	sia Mr Mohd Yunus Zakaria (Malaysia)	
Mr Wichar Thitiprasert (Thailand)	Mr Wichar Thitiprasert (Thailand) Ms Zhihua Zhou	Mr M. Sanjappa (India)	
	(China)		
Central and South America and the Caribbean			
Ms Mariana de Jesús Mites Cadena (Ecuador)	Mr Kenneth Richardson (Bahamas) Ms Dora Ingrid Rivera	Ms Adriana Rivera Brusatin (Colombia)	
Ms Dora Ingrid Rivera (Costa Rica)	(Costa Rica) Mr Mario Esteban Veliz Perez	Mr Milcíades Mejía (Dominican Republic)	
	(Guatemala) Mr Jorge Warner Pineda (Costa Rica)		
Europe			
Ms Margarita Clemente Muñoz (Spain)	Ms Margarita Clemente Muñoz (Spain)	Ms Nika Debeljak Sabec (Slovenia)	
Mr Maurizio Sajeva (Italy)	Mr David Kikodze (Georgia)	Mr Jonas Lüthy (Switzerland)	
North America			
Mr Robert R. Gabel (United States of America)	Mr Hesiquio Benitez Dias (Mexico)	Ms Adrianne Sinclair (Canada)	Ms Adrianne Sinclair (Canada)
Oceania			
Mr Greg Leach (Australia)		Mr Osia Gideon (Papua New Guinea)	
Specialist on botanical nomenclature			
Mr Noel McGough (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)			