# CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA

Thirteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties Bangkok (Thailand), 2-14 October 2004

#### ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE PERMANENT COMMITTEES

- 1. This document has been prepared by the Secretariat.
- 2. The Conference of the Parties has adopted guidelines regarding the procedure to be followed for the selection of regional members and alternate regional members of the Standing Committee and of the Animals and Plants Committees. These are contained in Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP12).
- 3. With Notification No. 2004/022 of 30 April 2004, the Secretariat asked Parties to submit candidatures for membership of these committees at least 120 days before the meeting, i.e. by 4 June, in compliance with Resolution Conf. 11.1 (Rev. CoP12). The Parties of the Asian region decided to extend the deadline to 2 September 2004.
- 4. The Annexes to this document show the lists of current regionally-elected members and alternate members of each committee, the outgoing incumbents and the Parties and individuals who have put forward their candidatures to become members or alternate members.

### **STANDING COMMITTEE**

# Regionally elected committee members and alternate members

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 13th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates	
	Afı	rica		
<ul> <li>Cameroon</li> <li>United Republic of Tanzania</li> <li>South Africa</li> <li>Tunisia</li> </ul>	Botswana*, Kenya*, Zambia*	<ul><li>Guinea</li><li>Kenya</li><li>Zambia</li><li>Ghana</li></ul>	Botswana*	
	As	sia		
<ul> <li>China</li> <li>Malaysia</li> <li>New vacancy now that the region has more than 31 Parties</li> </ul>	China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Jordan, Philippines, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam	<ul> <li>United Arab Emirates</li> <li>India</li> <li>New vacancy now that the region has more than 31 Parties</li> </ul>	Israel	
Central and South America and the Caribbean				
<ul><li>Saint Lucia</li><li>Ecuador</li><li>Nicaragua</li></ul>	Chile*, Peru*, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines*	<ul> <li>Saint Vincent and the Grenadines</li> <li>Chile</li> <li>Costa Rica</li> </ul>		
	Eur	ope		
<ul><li>Czech Republic</li><li>Germany</li></ul>		<ul> <li>Portugal</li> <li>United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland</li> </ul>	Bulgaria	
– Norway		– Turkey		
North America				
<ul> <li>United States of America (Chairman)</li> </ul>	Canada*	– Canada	Mexico*	
Oceania				
<ul><li>Australia</li></ul>	Australia*	<ul><li>Vanuatu</li></ul>		

<sup>\*</sup> Candidature received after the deadline of 4 June (except for Asia).

# **ANIMALS COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 13th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates		
·		rica			
<ul> <li>Mr Michael Griffin Namibia</li> <li>Mr Edson Chidziya Zimbabwe</li> </ul>	Mr Richard Bagine* Kenya  Mr Patrick Omondi* Kenya Mr Khaled Zahzah* Tunisia*	<ul> <li>Mr Richard Kiome</li> <li>Bagine</li> <li>Kenya</li> <li>Mr Mustafa Ahmed</li> <li>Mahmoud</li> <li>Egypt</li> </ul>			
Asia					
<ul> <li>Mr Schwann         Tunhikorn         Thailand</li> <li>Mr Mohammad         Pourkazemi         Iran (Islamic Republic of)</li> </ul>	Ms Siti Nuramaliati Prijono Indonesia Mr Zuhair Amr Jordan Mr Choo-Hoo Giam Singapore	<ul> <li>Mr Choo-Hoo Giam Singapore</li> <li>Mr Nobuo Ishii Japan</li> </ul>	Mr Choo-Hoo Giam Singapore		
Central and South America and the Caribbean					
<ul> <li>Mr Sixto J.         <ul> <li>Incháustegui</li> <li>Dominican Republic</li> </ul> </li> <li>Mr Marco Polo             Micheletti             Honduras</li> </ul>	Mr Antonio Palma Inostroza* Chile Mr Miguel Gonzalo Andrade Correa* Colombia Mr Mario Roberto Jolon Morales* Guatemala Mr Peter Vogel* Jamaica Mr Jesús Humberto Córdova Santa Gadea Peru Mr Marcel Calvar Agreto Uruguay Mr Alvaro Velasco Barbieri Venezuela	<ul> <li>Mr Roberto Ramos         Tangarona         Cuba</li> <li>Mrs Magaly M. Ojeda         Venezuela</li> </ul>			
	Eur	ope			
<ul> <li>Mrs Katalin Rodics         Hungary</li> <li>Mr Thomas Althaus         (Chairman)         Switzerland</li> </ul>		<ul> <li>Mr Alexander G.</li> <li>Sorokin</li> <li>Russian Federation</li> <li>Mr Carlos Ibero</li> <li>Solana</li> <li>Spain</li> </ul>			
North America					
<ul><li>Mr Rodrigo</li><li>A. Medellín</li><li>Mexico</li></ul>	Mr Rodrigo A. Medellín* Mexico	<ul> <li>Mr Javier Alvarez</li> <li>United States of America</li> </ul>	Mr Robert R. Gabel* United States of America		

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates	
Oceania				
<ul><li>Mr Rod Hay</li></ul>		<ul> <li>Mr Richard John</li> </ul>		
New Zealand		Watling		
		Fiji		

\* Candidature received after the deadline of 4 June (except for Asia).

### **PLANTS COMMITTEE**

Members and alternate members whose term ends at the close of the 13th meeting of the Conference of the Parties are indicated in **bold**.

Representatives	Candidates	Alternates	Candidates		
Africa					
<ul><li>Mr John Donaldson South Africa</li><li>Mr Quentin Luke Kenya</li></ul>	Mr David Hafashimana Uganda Mr Quentin Luke Kenya Ms Beatrice Khayota	<ul> <li>Mr Koffi Akpagana         Togo</li> <li>Mr Sayed F.I. Khalifa         Egypt</li> </ul>			
	Kenya	sia			
<ul><li>Mrs Irawati Indonesia</li><li>Mr N.P. Singh India</li></ul>	A	- Mr Zul Mukshar Md. Shaari Malaysia - Mr Jiansheng Jia China			
	Central and South Ame	erica and the Caribbean			
<ul><li>Mr Enrique Forero Colombia</li><li>Mrs Fátima Mereles</li></ul>	Ms Dora Ingrid Rivera Luther* Costa Rica Ms Carmita Bonifaz	<ul><li>Mrs Dora Ingrid Rivera Costa Rica</li><li>Vacancy [former</li></ul>	Ms Mariana de Jesús Mites Cadena* Ecuador		
Paraguay	Balseca* Ecuador Mr George Richardson Proctor* Jamaica Mr Ignacio Lombardi Indacochea* Peru	alternate resigned]			
		ope			
<ul> <li>Mrs Margarita</li> <li>Clemente Muñoz</li> <li>(Chairman)</li> <li>Spain</li> </ul>	Mrs Margarita Clemente Muñoz Spain	<ul> <li>Mrs Hanna Werblan- Jakubiec</li> <li>Poland</li> </ul>			
– Mr Giuseppe Frenguelli Italy		– Mr Jonas Lüthy Switzerland			
North America					
<ul> <li>Mrs Patricia Dolores         Dávila Aranda         Mexico     </li> </ul>	Mr Robert R. Gabel* United States of America	United States of America	Ms Carolina Caceres* (until April 2005) Canada Ms Adrianne Sinclair* (from April 2005) Canada		
Mr Croal sach	Uce	ania Mr Osio Cidoon			
<ul> <li>Mr Greg Leach</li> <li>Australia</li> </ul>		<ul> <li>Mr Osia Gideon</li> <li>Papua New Guinea</li> </ul>			

<sup>\*</sup> Candidature received after the deadline of 4 June (except for Asia).