## CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL TRADE IN ENDANGERED SPECIES OF WILD FAUNA AND FLORA

\_\_\_\_\_

Forty-first meeting of the Standing Committee Geneva (Switzerland), 8-12 February 1999

## Implementation of the Convention in individual countries

## DESIGNATION OF MANAGEMENT AND SCIENTIFIC AUTHORITIES

This document has been prepared by the CITES Secretariat.

- 1. In Resolution Conf. 10.3, paragraph b), the Conference of the Parties to the Convention recommends that Parties not accept export permits from countries that have not informed the Secretariat of their Scientific Authorities for more than one interval between regular meetings of the Conference of the Parties.
- 2. On 30 June 1998, the Secretariat sent Notification to the Parties No. 1998/27 to draw the attention of Parties to Articles III, IV, VI and IX of the Convention. It stressed that each Party shall designate one or more Management Authorities and one or more Scientific Authorities and that the issuance of import and export permits requires the advice of the Scientific Authority(ies).
- 3. The Secretariat has recently identified three Parties that have yet to provide information on their designated Management and Scientific Authorities. These Parties are Antigua and Barbuda, Comoros, and Mauritania. A further eight Parties, Afghanistan, Belize, Dominica, Eritrea, Jamaica, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, have yet to inform the Secretariat of their Scientific Authority.
- 4. To avoid permits being rejected in accordance with Resolution Conf. 10.3, paragraph b) under RECOMMENDS, Comoros, Dominica, Eritrea and Jamaica should before the 11th meeting of the Conference of the Parties provide the necessary information about their designated Management and/or Scientific Authority(ies).
- 5. Antigua and Barbuda and Mauritania should provide the required information about their designated Management and/or Scientific Authorities before the 12th meeting of the Conference of the Parties.
- 6. Information about the designated Management Authority must be provided to the Depositary Government (the Government of the Swiss Confederation) through the diplomatic channel. Information about the designated Scientific Authority may be provided at the same time or provided to the Secretariat later by the designated Management Authority.
- 7. For the Management Authorities of Afghanistan, Belize, Rwanda and the United Arab Emirates the time limit specified in Resolution Conf. 10.3 has passed and they have still not informed the Secretariat of their Scientific Authorities.

- 8. The Secretariat will therefore remind the Parties not to accept export permits from Afghanistan, Belize, Rwanda and the United Arab Emirates, until these four countries have informed the Secretariat of their Scientific Authorities.
- 9. The Secretariat requests that the regional representatives to the Standing Committee encourage all the other Parties concerned (Antigua and Barbuda, Comoros, Dominica, Eritrea, Jamaica and Mauritania) to take the necessary measures and supply the relevant information pursuant to Article IX.